6th Graders in the Sunshine with Phone Cameras: Slice of Life Tuesdays

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

What a glorious day to join in the fun with Tara Smith and her 6th Grade Writers! Testing time in New Jersey and what a perfect opportunity to offer her students a digital writing adventure outside.  Even though schools still insist that the cell phone should be outlawed from the classroom, in the digital world they are treasure chests with cameras and great apps…

And after months of collecting images and video from the classroom experiences I’ve observed, it was only right that finally I share something.  Quickly, I grabbed some of my favorites photos and created a slide show with a piece of their favorite music just to make our year of documentation real.  Of course I have much more to work on, to put  text and analysis to the work, but the images to speak volumes.  When Tuvia watched it he was surprised that so much serious work happens in a 6th grade classroom.

What do you notice?

9 thoughts

  1. Love this video! What I noticed was collaboration among the students, they were a unit working to solve/think, concentration to task at hand, and pure joy. Now that’s a classroom I want my child in. 🙂

  2. I loved Tara’s words about the ‘picture’ taking, and now I get to see them in action, and in the classroom, too. Loved this, Bonnie. So great you two were able to collaborate in work with the class. They must have loved the doing, too! Thank you!

  3. Pingback: In my writing workshop: it’s finally time for photographs and digital stories. | TWO WRITING TEACHERS

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

jaanawrites

"writing is the painting of the voice" -Voltaire-

Tammy Evans Writer

short fiction writer * writing teacher

lit bits and pieces

Snippets of learning and life

Teach.Workout.Love

a motherhood community for moms who do it all

jacquelinehesse

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Crawling Out of the Classroom

In everything that my students and I do together, we strive to find ways to use reading and writing to make the world outside of our classroom a better place for all of us to be

Lisa's Ramblings: Random Thoughts on the World We Live In...

Unleashed

Freeing the Writer Within

As I See It

Observations on Life

AnnaGCockerille Literacy

The Generative Power of Language: Building Literacy Skills One Word at a Time

Haddon Musings

There are 11,507 stories in Haddonfield; this is one of them.

To Read To Write To Be

Thoughts on learning and teaching

Just Let Me Teach

MrsWp, ELA Teacher

newTeachrtips

How to stay sane studying to become a teacher, and eventually, during your first years (when I get there!)

arjeha

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever