New Slicers were born today: SOLT

 

It was a grand morning to be diving into a new collaboration with my good buddy, Tara Smith, slicer extraordinaire, as many of you know first-hand.

I was sure Tara would be a great teacher and wow, is she ever.

Today, she kicked off her annual year of slicing with her two 6th grade sections and I was given all the freedom I needed to capture the day with stills and video.

As you can see Tara, doesn’t sit still and she keeps her students moving with her.  She began on her Smartboard, sharing a Slice reflection from a student from last year, just to give these new slicers a taste.

Then we all moved back of the room into the comfy, cozy area for note-taking and slicing specifics… then back to the desk area for the kids to work in small groups reading slice of life models, writing comments and then sharing their observations with all of us.  We could feel the excitement rising.

And then finally, the assignment deadlines and final questions.  But of course there’s no end to the questions, right?

All in 45 minutes.

Then Tara and I had precious downtime between sessions to digest and chat!  Why not have me join in on the fun: share my slices and leave comments.  Maybe get some back as well.

Looks like we have a lot to process. A year of slicing has begun; a year to deepen and enrich our friendship.

I am jumping out of my skin, ready to work with Tara and her 6th graders.

Life is good!

More to come…

13 thoughts

  1. I love the photo collage and am a little jealous that you and Tara get to work together. There is a lovely thread of friendship through the photos and words. So glad you took the time to share this one! (Of course, I’m always partial to slices about slices!)
    Ruth

  2. All these words of glee want to jump out all at once! It is so exciting that you two are collaborating and what writing joy is ahead for these sixth graders! I am so happy that you are allowing us to share in it all. 🙂

  3. Love the peek into this awesome collaboration. I wish we could all be together like this. All my best for your continued excitement that will naturally spread to the kids.

  4. “We could feel the excitement rising” – great line. It’s what happens each time I begin to read a slice and then another and another. I love having the feeling throughout the week as I go back and read. Your pictures, as always, are spectacular and I love seeing the action. Thanks, Bonnie!

  5. I was hoping you would share your time in Tara’s class, and I was not disappointed. What a great collaboration! I can’t wait for more glimpses into this project. Are you making a video? That would be so powerful to show classroom teachers who are doubters.

  6. Pingback: Slice of Life in the classroom: How to rubric and grade our project | TWO WRITING TEACHERS

  7. Pingback: A Year of “Slice of Life” in the classroom. | TWO WRITING TEACHERS

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

jaanawrites

"writing is the painting of the voice" -Voltaire-

Tammy Evans Writer

short fiction writer * writing teacher

lit bits and pieces

Snippets of learning and life

Teach.Workout.Love

a motherhood community for moms who do it all

jacquelinehesse

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Crawling Out of the Classroom

In everything that my students and I do together, we strive to find ways to use reading and writing to make the world outside of our classroom a better place for all of us to be

Lisa's Ramblings: Random Thoughts on the World We Live In...

Unleashed

Freeing the Writer Within

As I See It

Observations on Life

AnnaGCockerille Literacy

The Generative Power of Language: Building Literacy Skills One Word at a Time

Haddon Musings

There are 11,507 stories in Haddonfield; this is one of them.

To Read To Write To Be

Thoughts on learning and teaching

Just Let Me Teach

MrsWp, ELA Teacher

newTeachrtips

How to stay sane studying to become a teacher, and eventually, during your first years (when I get there!)

arjeha

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever