Sharing 2013 and Why Bother?

Process:
A few weeks ago, I started working on a digital piece for the new year. I’ve created pieces to ring in the new year before and even though I have lots of other things to work on, I left them all. It’s been a rich year for me, a year that’s ending better than I thought it might and I started pulling photos from my Aperture/IPhoto libraries. I had a perfect tune to use, that Ive been dying to work with. I even started dropping photos onto a fresh FINAL CUT Timeline but probably during an early morning shower I reconsidered, remembering how much I loved creating a community piece,” This is What Love Looks Like.

Turnaround time:

I put out a call on Facebook, through email, Twitter and the iAnthology. Kevin jumped to help and immediately retweeted my call and the photos started arriving in my email box and on Facebook. Without realizing how many contributors I already had, I put out a second call and even more wonderful images arrived. Many came from friends who had joined in on other projects, friends I’ve been working with over time and happily some new friends as well. Some sent me one image, some two, some more. I started to organize everything in folders and began keeping a separate list of names… wow, 50 in no time.

Of course I had to procrastinate. I didn’t open Final Cut until I gave myself a deadline: New Year’s Eve- day… Okay. As often as I’ve used Final Cut for projects with every break, I approach the click to a project gingerly. Good thing I always had my song to get me going- “Auld Lang Syne”, a gorgeous version used in the “Sex & the City” movie sung by an Irish singer, Maire Campbell.

I began to play with the pictures and realized I needed context for each page of this piece. A title, a caption, even a short piece of inspired writing… I put out the call and quickly, most everyone responded. I spent time getting to know each image and given the speed of movement, I often had to edit the text. Brian, I hope you were okay with my revisions to your fabulous response.

I had almost 5 minutes, the length of the song and I worked to showcase each contributor,giving as much time as I could to their images and words. I moved things around, added effects, revised effects, added transitions and durations, to make the movement from page to page, smooth..working with the music… and then I had to add some of my special 2013 moments without making it feel like it was all about me. I hope it doesn’t feel that way.

I love the process. I love being in a piece even if I frustrated. In the middle of this one, Apple put out an small update and how stupid, I couldn’t wait. Things were moved around and I had to take away time to figure out what I needed that I wasn’t seeing. I kept moving without a need to ask for Apple tech support. I’m always happy when I can figure things out for myself, even though I do need to thank Maresk for his suggestions- I started playing with generators- that blue background.

And with a long last night of work, the next morning, after Tuvia took a look, and gave his thumbs up I was ready to wait until New Year’s Eve to post it. But after an afternoon at the movies, I was home and creating a version on You Tube and posting.

It’s been great to watch the number of hits grow at the You Tube channel and the wonderful comments fill my Facebook page and email account.

I loved this piece. I still love the music and I still love watching the piece when the moment hits me.

At this moment, Final Cut and I are one. Seems like a perfect time to keep working on the next piece. right?

Bonnie

38 thoughts

  1. I love how this piece turned out. I’m sorry I didn’t have a chance to add to it. You’ve become so great at creating digital media. I’m always impressed with your results! Happy Early New Year to you.

    • Thanks Lynn. I was hoping you would share something but I was very aware that this was a tough time for people to focus on my project. Next year, yes???? I did love the process!

  2. Some of the images or words go by so fast, I will be watching it again and again, just to savor the connections you have to all the contributors. You do amazing work!

    • 🙂 I tried hard to slow it down for each page and do justice to every one but it was so hard…I’m glad that you are using that pause button and that you want to. Thanks Elsie for participating and supporting me 🙂

  3. I’ve watched it two or three times each day, Bonnie, hovering over the pause button so I can look more thoroughly. I love the music you chose. Since I don’t watch much tv, I didn’t know that version-beautiful. As I said earlier, you’ve given us all a lovely gift, of memory and to greet the new year with inspiration. Thank you again!

    • Good thing there’s that pause button. I tired hard on my end but I knew I had just so much time and before I knew it, I had 50 people sharing… amazing 🙂 Thank you Linda for your contributions to my video and my life.
      Bonnie

  4. Dear Bonnie, The video is so beautiful and I’m glad that you explained your thinking as you worked through the process. It makes me think about asking my students to keep a journal as they work through creating a digital piece (or any piece) and use it to create a reflection piece. Happy New Year! (Next year, I’ll send you something).

  5. I love the piece…and I love your reflection on the process even more! The song is beautiful backdrop for the images…and a perfect way to celebrate 2013 and usher in 2014! Thanks for making…and sharing…and including us all!

  6. Pingback: One Little Word | Reflections on the Teche

  7. I can watch this again and again. The song is soothing and the pictures lift me up. Thanks so much for doing this project full of love!

  8. Oh Bonnie,
    I love your video! Beautifully done! Sorry i missed the call to participate! I love how you put it together and married the pictures with the music! The transitions and text are just perfect!
    Well done Bonnie!

  9. Bonnie, I really love what you did. Everything just flows. Since only joining SOL during the summer, it is really nice to now be able to associate faces with names. Hope you have a Happy and Healthy New Year.

  10. Bonnie, what a treasure to discover this in the last moments of 2013. Meeting Slicers in person at AllWrite was an incredible experience! I was petrified, but felt so welcomed by this community. It’s fun to see photos and put faces to familiar names. I missed the call, but I’m hoping to attend my first NCTE in DC next year and hopefully, we’ll have a gathering of slicers there. I always take pictures, so I should be able to contribute next year.

  11. Your work is just beautiful, tying in so many lives and so much writing and such beautiful music. Thank you for your time and talent and thanks for sharing this.
    Have a wonderful new year! Can’t wait to see what delights it brings from your creative mind.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

jaanawrites

"writing is the painting of the voice" -Voltaire-

Tammy Evans Writer

short fiction writer * writing teacher

lit bits and pieces

Snippets of learning and life

Teach.Workout.Love

a motherhood community for moms who do it all

jacquelinehesse

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Crawling Out of the Classroom

In everything that my students and I do together, we strive to find ways to use reading and writing to make the world outside of our classroom a better place for all of us to be

Lisa's Ramblings: Random Thoughts on the World We Live In...

Unleashed

Freeing the Writer Within

As I See It

Observations on Life

AnnaGCockerille Literacy

The Generative Power of Language: Building Literacy Skills One Word at a Time

Haddon Musings

There are 11,507 stories in Haddonfield; this is one of them.

To Read To Write To Be

Thoughts on learning and teaching

Just Let Me Teach

MrsWp, ELA Teacher

newTeachrtips

How to stay sane studying to become a teacher, and eventually, during your first years (when I get there!)

arjeha

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever