Finishing up with Tara and her Writers: Slice of Life Tuesday

I’ve been under pressure to get my documentary done and ready for publishing to an authentic audience of Tara, her 6th graders and their parents and possibly some administrators.  As usual, I made myself crazy until I seriously got started.

I dipped my toes in for a few days, just connecting my external hard drive and skimming through videos.  But it was just too overwhelming and any excuse forced me away.  Any excuse.

And I sweated the time, filling up my days and wondering when I would find the essential time that I might need, after all I had so much video to get through given that this was a year- long project.  Of course there’s a happy ending to this.  I buckled down last week and began in earnest.  I set up my time line and started watching, repeating footage that I liked and soon I had way too much.  Time for my trusty razor blade.   Let the editing begin!

So I had a beginning and a framework.  I wasn’t sure how much I could use of Tara set up the project and the kids starting to work from mentor texts, but given the focus these days of mentor texts, I was sure it would be of value.  I still had lots of footage of the kids to look at but even that was easier than I had planned.  I immediately  left behind readings I couldn’t hear and soon, with some early mornings and a few late nights I had something, enough to share with Tuvia, my first line of audience and it went well.  “Don’t cut anything!”  I didn’t.  But I did have to finish with some of the great images I had of the kids throughout the project.  Some of the kids who did not get to share their voices.

Okay, done last night a ready to share with Tara.  I was prepared to rework anything that didn’t work for her.  As you might suspect, she is very easy to collaborate with.

She loved it, just the way it was!

So now with a week to spare, I have something.  Of course, as I put it here for you to view, I’m off to my next project, with a very fast moving deadline to lose more sleep for.  Oh well, I’m used to this routine.  It might not be the most productive way to create, but I know it well.

Here it is:

 

10 thoughts

  1. Wow, Bonnie! You have done it again! This is such a joyful journey of these writers and one incredible teacher. I loved watching Tara teach, the passion for this work shines through. Simply awesome, and I can see me using this to inspire teachers to take up slice of life work. Thank you for sharing!

  2. WOW! This is such a GREAT display of the power that Slice of Life can have!! I am nearly speechless…. just WOW. Thank you so very much for sharing!!

  3. I agree with Jen- WOW! And with Elsie- what a joyful journey, so inspiring! Wonderful! The smiles on the kids’ faces and their writing and thoughtful reflections were just great!

  4. This is one of the most inspirational teaching videos I have EVER seen. i am SO glad you shared this as it models how highly effective classrooms are made: collaboration, reflection, and work. I plan to share this video with grad students for a long, long time. Thank you for inspiring ME this morning,.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

jaanawrites

"writing is the painting of the voice" -Voltaire-

Tammy Evans Writer

short fiction writer * writing teacher

lit bits and pieces

Snippets of learning and life

Teach.Workout.Love

a motherhood community for moms who do it all

jacquelinehesse

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Crawling Out of the Classroom

In everything that my students and I do together, we strive to find ways to use reading and writing to make the world outside of our classroom a better place for all of us to be

Lisa's Ramblings: Random Thoughts on the World We Live In...

Unleashed

Freeing the Writer Within

As I See It

Observations on Life

AnnaGCockerille Literacy

The Generative Power of Language: Building Literacy Skills One Word at a Time

Haddon Musings

There are 11,507 stories in Haddonfield; this is one of them.

To Read To Write To Be

Thoughts on learning and teaching

Just Let Me Teach

MrsWp, ELA Teacher

newTeachrtips

How to stay sane studying to become a teacher, and eventually, during your first years (when I get there!)

arjeha

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever